Skin Tumor – Keratoacanthoma on the Neck

July 2012, I had this 70-year-old female patient with a skin lesion on the neck.  I gave a primary clinical diagnosis of granuloma pyogenicum.  My secondary clinical diagnosis is keratoacanthoma.  After excision, the histopath result shows keratoacanthoma.

I read and learned from this experience.

Keratoacanthoma (KA) is classified as a skin tumor, which may be benign or malignant depending on who is talking.  It is akin to squamous cell carcinoma, albeit a low-grade one.  This is the reason for the conflicting views.

The defining characteristic of KA is that it is dome-shaped, symmetrical, surrounded by a smooth wall of inflamed skin, and capped with keratin scales and debris.  This should be used in the clinical diagnostic process using pattern recognition.

(I will remember this and I will not forget this as I reviewed the pictures I took of the skin lesion of my patient. See below.  I also looked at two pictures of published KA in the Net.   This is new learning for me.  I don’t think I will easily forget this because of my problem-based learning process and I spent quite some time researching and writing about it.)

From my patient.

From my patient, close-up.

From the Net.

From the Net.

***************************************

The best way to become acquainted with a subject is to write a book about it.

Benjamin Disraeli

*****************************

This entry was posted in Keratoacanthoma, Skin Tumor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment